The State Government in the Department of Tourism & Culture is the Nodal Department to look after the management organisation and establishment of Public Library in the State. Of course the Information and Public Relations Department, Panchayati Raj Department, Labour and Employment Department, the Urban Development Department have certain responsibilities in establishment of reading rooms and information centres for meeting the information requirements of the public to some extent, but not to the fullest extent. However public libraries have been established by the voluntary organisations and NGOs and are rendering valuable public library services in the urban and rural areas of the State. There are also libraries established in clubs and societies of the learned bodies those had been established during late 19th century and early part of 20th century. Public libraries those existed in the form of Bhagabat Tungis, Sanskrit Tols, Monastries (Mathas), Temple sites, Madrassas, Mosques, Chapels, Churches, Cathedrals are various forms of public libraries, now totally reformed.

             The Department of Tourism & Culture is looking after promotion of cultural institutions (libraries, museums, archives, old records, record rooms) and are providing cultural grants for different activities. The library affairs is looked after by the culture wing of Tourism & Culture Department consisting of Principal Secretary or Commissioner-cum-Secretary to Govt. in the cadre of Indian Administrative Service. He is supported with cadres of other officials. A minister in charge of Culture forms the Government of the public library services. A Directorate of Culture comprising a Director in the rank of Additional Secretary, a Deputy Director, Culture (Library), an Assistant Director, Culture (Library) and some ministerial staff constitute the Directorate. The Directorate looks after the administration of a grid of libraries comprising the HKM State Library at the apex level and the library located in the State Capital of Orissa, Bhubaneswar in its own building. A separate account of HKM State Library is provided in other sites. There are 30 districts and the following unit libraries are working, in a District; (1) District Library and where the Dist. Library does not exist there a (2) Grantee District Library which is a recognized Government library of I & P.R. Department (3) A Block Level Library usually called a Gandhi Pathagar, which is generally a registered voluntary organization working in a block area and the library receives regular grant-in-aid from the Department of Culture under R.R.R.L.F. Schemes (4) Information and reading rooms of I & P.R. Department (5) Municipal Libraries of Urban Development Department (6) Heritage libraries in forms of clubs, mathas, temples (7) Libraries maintained by voluntary organizations and NGOs.

             The annual budget of the Public Library Services during 2001-2002 to 2005-2006 is present in another site.

 For further information, Contact: Dr. Buddhadev Panda, Deputy Director, Culture , Bhubaneswar,